ATTENTION: All MCPL locations will be closed Fri., 9/20, for staff development.

2017 Youth Media Award Winners

February 4, 2017

"The Girl Who Drank the Moon" book cover

The American Library Association has announced its 2017 youth media award winners! The Marathon County Public Library owns copies of ALL of the major winners and runners-up, so feel free to click the links for each title below and place a hold on these titles today! For a full list of all award winners, visit the ALA website.

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature was awarded to The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill. Three Newbery Honor Books also were named: Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan, The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog by Adam Gidwitz, and Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children was awarded to Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat illustrated and written by Javaka Steptoe. Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named: Leave Me Alone! illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol, Freedom in Congo Square illustrated by R. Gregory Christie and written by Carole Boston Weatherford, Du Iz Tak? illustrated and written by Carson Ellis, and They All Saw a Cat illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel.

The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults was awarded to March: Book Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and illustrated by Nate Powell. Four Printz Honor Books also were named: Asking for It by Louise O’Neill, The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry, Scythe by Neal Shusterman, and The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon.

The Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults was awarded to March: Book Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and illustrated by Nate Powell. Two King Author Honor Books were selected: As Brave as You by Jason Reynolds, and Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan.

The Pura Belpré Award honors a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience. The illustrator award was awarded to Lowriders to the Center of the Earth, illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez. Two honor books were awarded: Esquivel!: Space-Age Sound Artist illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh and written by Susan Wood. The Princess and the Warrior: A Tale of Two Volcanoes illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh. Juana & Lucas written by Juana Medina, is the Pura Belpré Author Award winner. The book is illustrated by Juana Medina. One Belpré Author Honor Book was named: The Only Road written by Alexandra Diaz.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book was awarded to We Are Growing: A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book written by Laurie Keller. Four Geisel Honor Books were named: Good Night Owl written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper written and illustrated by Mike Twohy, Go Otto Go! written and illustrated by David Milgrim, and The Infamous Ratsos written by Kara LaReau and illustrated by Matt Myers.

Awards Books Reading Recommendations Youth Media Awards Children


Receive our monthly email newsletter and stay informed of upcoming book clubs, story times, presentations, performances, movies nights, arts & crafts, author visits and more!

Your email address will be used for this purpose only and will not be redistributed or sold. You may unsubscribe at any time.