Marathon County Public Library

learning • community • ideas • information

Kids' Corner

New Books: For Children

Min makes a machine

Min makes a machine Emily Arnold McCully

Publisher's description: Using a pipe, a tube, and some glue, Min makes an Archimedes screw, a device that draws water, to get water from a well into a swimming pool. This book has the same characters as 3, 2, 1, Go! in which Min builds ...

Mammals

Mammals Jaclyn Jaycox

Publisher's description: Did you know that the sand cat can survive without water? Meet gentle gazelles, screaming armadillos, and other mammals at the Smithsonian National Zoo in these first books reviewed by Smithsonian experts. Bring augmented reality to your students by downloading the free Capstone ...

Weird but true

Weird but true

Publisher's description: Collects three hundred facts about Canada's wildlife, cuisine, history, sports, and culture. (2018-05-15)

Im fun too

Im fun too Jonathan Fenske

Publisher's description: What happens when a classic, ordinary Lego minifigure meets a crew of extraordinary minifigures, with their elaborate vehicles, colorful clothes, and wild accessories? He thinks he's no fun at all! (2018-01-12)

Judy Moody predicts the future

Judy Moody predicts the future Megan McDonald

Publisher's description: "This is a great choice for first-chapter-book readers, especially those already acquainted with Judy." -- BOOKLIST Judy Moody ate one, two, three bowls of cereal. No prize. She poured four, five, six bowls of cereal. Nothing. Seven. Out fell the Mystery Prize. Judy ...

Pokmon super deluxe essential handbook

Pokmon super deluxe essential handbook

Publisher's description: The new edition of the bestselling Deluxe Essential Handbook is here - and it includes all-new Pokémon! With 496 color pages and info on over 800 Pokémon, this is a must-have for kids of all ages. (2018-07-31)

Dog science unleashed

Dog science unleashed Jodi Wheeler-Toppen

Publisher's description: Learn about science with the most faithful lab partner you'll ever have -- your dog! Discover how your canine companion thinks, moves, drinks, stays warm, gets clean, cools off, and more. Have fun with 22 safe and pup-friendly activities that let you work ...

Me myselfie I

Me myselfie I Jamie Lee Curtis

Publisher's description: Full of all the heart and humor we've come to expect from Jamie Lee Curtis, this book is sure to delight and will be relatable to both kids and parents.Selfies in dance classselfies while sledding. (2018-09-04)

Honey

Honey David Ezra Stein

(description unavailable)

Fly girls

Fly girls P OConnell Patricia OConnell Pearson

Publisher's description: At the height of World War II, the US Army Airforce faced a desperate need for skilled pilots--but only men were allowed in military airplanes, even if the expert pilots who were training them to fly were women. Through grit and pure determination, ...

Coyote

Coyote Cari Meister

Publisher's description: In Coyotes, beginning readers will follow a coyote as it hunts in the wild. Vibrant, full-color photos and carefully leveled text will engage young readers as they learn how coyotes survive in the wild. (2018-09-20)

My first 100 words

My first 100 words

Publisher's description: Help your child learn their first words with this fantastic picture dictionary, full of fun and colorful images to engage little learners. (2018-06-05)

Plus gros que le ventre English

Plus gros que le ventre English Michal Escoffier

Publisher's description: "In this book, young children are introduced to a ravenous monster that eats everything in its path. (2018-04-10)

Dad by my side

Dad by my side Soosh

(description unavailable)

Roller coasters

Roller coasters Grace Hansen

Publisher's description: This title explains the history of roller coasters and the exciting and stomach-churning rides they are today. (2018-08-01)

Play ball Pikachu

Play ball Pikachu Sonia Sander

Publisher's description: The new Pokémon are here, and kids gotta catch 'em all! This Level 2 reader features the Alola Pokémon from Nintendo's hit games for Nintendo DS, Sun & Moon. Includes one sheet of stickers. (2018-08-28)

The epic tales of Captain Underpants wedgie power guidebook

The epic tales of Captain Underpants wedgie power guidebook Kate Howard

Publisher's description: A guide to the television show featuring the exploits of the diaper-wearing superhero profiles characters and inventions, describes George and Harold's best pranks, and recounts some of Captain Underpants' greatest battles. (2018-07-31)

I love kisses

I love kisses Sheryl McFarlane

Publisher's description: Illustrations and rhyming text celebrate kisses received from all sorts of families over the course of a year. (2017-12-15)

Poodles

Poodles Kaitlyn Duling

Publisher's description: In Poodles, young readers will learn about the physical features and characteristics of poodles. Vibrant, full-color photos and carefully leveled text engage beginning readers as they learn about this dog breed. (2018-09-20)

Crow not crow

Crow not crow Jane Yolen

Publisher's description: Tells the story of a child's first birding expedition on a golden autumn day. (2018-08-28)

Shorty Clem blast off

Shorty Clem blast off Michael H Slack

Publisher's description: From the creator of the award-winning app Scruffy Kitty, Michael Slack, Shorty & Clean Blast Off! is perfect for fans of Jory John’s Goodnight Already, Chris Haughton’s books, and Mo Willems. CLEM is a busy bird. (2018-07-31)