Marathon County Public Library

learning • community • ideas • information

Holiday hours: All MCPL locations will be closed Sat.-Mon., 5/25–5/27. PATRON SURVEY: Click here to help us learn more about the times you visit your local MCPL!

Kids' Corner

New Books: For Children

Animalicious

Animalicious Anna Dewdney

Publisher's description: From A is for Anonymouse and I is for Incredibull, to K is for Kangarude and R is for Rocktopus, this ABC book will have readers laughing out loud as they learn the alphabet with animals they may never have seen--or even heard ...

My forest is green

My forest is green Darren Lebeuf

Publisher's description: A boy explores his urban forest, then interprets it through his art. (2019-04-02)

Karate Kakapo

Karate Kakapo Loredana Cunti

Publisher's description: A fun tale of an adorable karate-loving kakapo. Kakapo is crazy about karate. No other student at her dojo tries harder or practices more. She loves the blocks, the strikes, the stances. (2019-04-02)

Home is a window

Home is a window Stephanie Parsley Ledyard

Publisher's description: "A family learns what home really means when they leave their beloved house and move to another"-- (2019-04-23)

The night bear

The night bear Ana de Moraes

Publisher's description: It might not be his cup of tea, but surely there's someone who might like it? Prize-winning husband and wife team Thiago and Ana de Moraes present The Night Bear--the perfect bedtime story. (2019-03-05)

The tortoise and the scare

The tortoise and the scare Carolyn Keene

Publisher's description: Help Nancy and her friends find a missing tortoise in the eleventh book in the interactive Nancy Drew Clue Book mystery series. Nancy, Bess, and George have been looking forward to their school trip to the Wildlife Refuge for weeks. They’ve been studying ...

Lizzy McTizzy and the busy dizzy day

Lizzy McTizzy and the busy dizzy day Sarah Weeks

Publisher's description: From bestselling author Sarah Weeks and New York Times bestselling illustrator Lee Wildish comes an irresistibly fun picture book starring a girl who’s on the lookout for her shoe. (2019-04-02)

A new home

A new home Tania De Regil

Publisher's description: Tania de Regil offers a heartwarming story that reminds us that home may be found wherever life leads. Fascinating details about each city are featured at the end. (2019-04-01)

Tito the Bonecrusher

Tito the Bonecrusher Melissa Thomson

Publisher's description: Heartwarming and hilarious, this book looks at what it takes to be a hero . . . and what happens when you realize that saving the day might not always be possible. (2019-03-05)

Music for Mister Moon

Music for Mister Moon Philip Christian Stead

Publisher's description: After shy cello player Harriet Henry accidentally knocks the moon out of the sky, the moon becomes her friend, and Harriet gains the courage to share her music. (2019-03-26)

WWE tag teams and team-ups

WWE tag teams and team-ups Steve Pantaleo

Publisher's description: DK's reading scheme is levelled into stages to help every child progress and become a confident reader. This Level 2 book features engaging and highly illustrated topics with true kid appeal. (2019-03-19)

How to be a cat

How to be a cat Rachel Chlebowski

Publisher's description: An all-new The Secret Life of Pets 2 full-color picture book based on the movie The Secret Life of Pets 2, in theaters June 7, 2019! (2019-04-30)

Caterpillar summer

Caterpillar summer Gillian McDunn

Publisher's description: This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget. (2019-04-02)

Finding Orion

Finding Orion John David Anderson

Publisher's description: The acclaimed author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day and Posted returns with an unforgettable tale of love and laughter, of fathers and sons, of what family truly means, and of the ways in which we sometimes need to lose something in order to ...

Vamos Lets go to the market

Vamos Lets go to the market Raul Gonzalez

Publisher's description: Little Lobo, a Mexican American, and Bernabe, his dog, deliver supplies to vendors at the Mercado, a busy border town market. (2019-04-02)

TBH IDK whats next

TBH IDK whats next Lisa Greenwald

Publisher's description: Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER in the fourth book in this addictive series told entirely in text messages. (2019-05-07)

This book is cute

This book is cute Sarah Wassner Flynn

Publisher's description: "Information about why certain people, animals and things are considered "cute" and the scientific background, for children"-- (2019-03-19)