Marathon County Public Library

learning • community • ideas • information

Kids' Corner

New Books: For Children

Wild baby

Wild baby Cori Doerrfeld

Publisher's description: But the jungle is full of surprises. . . . This is a humorous and charming story for every parent with a wild child of their own. (2019-03-05)

The simple art of flying

The simple art of flying Cory Leonardo

Publisher's description: “Delightfully quirky.” —Kirkus Reviews Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family. Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ...

A ray of light

A ray of light Walter Wick

Publisher's description: A photographic exploration into the beauty and magic of light from the creator of the bestselling A Drop of Water and the Can You See What I See? series. (2019-02-26)

Marigold finds the magic words

Marigold finds the magic words Mike Malbrough

Publisher's description: When party-crashing birds ruin Marigold's magic act during his otherwise perfect birthday party, he makes all of his guests disappear before recalling the magic words to bring them back. (2019-03-01)

The frog book

The frog book Steve Jenkins

Publisher's description: An introduction to an assortment of the world's frog species discusses their colors, shapes, and sizes; many different habitats; their lifecycle; and how they find food, escape danger, and attract a mate. (2019-02-26)

Polar bears

Polar bears Jason Viola

Publisher's description: Do you have what it takes to live in one of the harshest places in the world? (2018-12-31)

How to give your cat a bath in five easy steps

How to give your cat a bath in five easy steps Nicola Winstanley

Publisher's description: In this hilarious and clever "how-to" from the creator of "Cinnamon Baby, " a little girl and a know-it-all narrator (who really doesn't know it all) are thwarted by a cat who refuses to take a bath. Full color. (2019-01-22)

Baby elephant joins the herd

Baby elephant joins the herd Benjamin Richmond

Publisher's description: Follow along as the calf experiences eating, playing, and using her trunk during her first years of life. Baby Elephant Joins the Herd is filled with facts that will engage young readers in a fun way. (2018-11-01)

Tornadoes

Tornadoes Gail Gibbons

Publisher's description: In her celebrated clear style, GAIL GIBBONS explores the power of tornadoes and explains what to do if one is coming your way. (2019-03-23)

Birthday baby

Birthday baby Jane Godwin

Publisher's description: It’s a busy day for baby in this darling, cheeky, charming picture book celebrating the joy and chaos of a baby-filled day! Today is baby’s birthday. Happy baby! Here come baby’s friends. Hello! Shy baby. Friendly baby. Sunny baby. Hat on, baby! Strong ...

All you need is love

All you need is love John Lennon

Publisher's description: Celebrate the love that surrounds us every day with this lyrical picture book that beautifully illustrates John Lennon and Paul McCartney’s world-renowned classic song “All You Need Is Love.” All you need is love, all you need is love All you need is ...

1919

1919 Martin W Sandler

Publisher's description: Acclaimed author Sandler examines the pinnacle events of 1919 and their relevance to significant issues in American life today. 1919 was a world-shaking year. (2019-01-08)

Find and point Easter

Find and point Easter

Publisher's description: What do we see on Easter? In this title, look for adorable bunnies, colored eggs, and more. There is also a find it feature where kids can reread the text while they look for the "hidden" objects. (2019-02-01)

Fear the bunny

Fear the bunny Richard T Morris

Publisher's description: Bunnies—not tigers—rule the forest in this adorable take on William Blake’s classic poem. Bunnies, bunnies, burning bright In the forests of the night— Wait, bunnies?! Yes, bunnies. Tigers may be the most feared animal in some forests, but in this one, they fear ...

Carter reads the newspaper

Carter reads the newspaper Deborah Hopkinson

Publisher's description: "Carter G. Woodson was born ten years after the end of the Civil War, to parents who had both been enslaved. (2019-03-23)

Eric Carles book of many things

Eric Carles book of many things Eric Carle

Publisher's description: From things in the garden to things you can eat, from numbers to shapes, from colors to feelings, this is the perfect way for little ones to learn what they need to navigate their busy worlds. (2019-02-05)

Rabbits bad habits

Rabbits bad habits Julian Gough

Publisher's description: With illustrations throughout, this chapter book is perfect for middle grade readers and is sure to become a fun favorite on any kid’s bookshelf. (2019-01-08)

Orcas

Orcas Dionna L Mann

Publisher's description: Did you know that orcas live in family groups their entire lives: and that their intelligent, collaborative hunting techniques are what earned them the nickname 'killer whales?' Be surprised and awed by every page of this captivating book! (2019-03-23)