Marathon County Public Library

learning • community • ideas • information

TeenZone

Dystopian Fiction for Teens / Teen Reads

Books for teens categorized for your consideration by library staff!

'An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)' by Sabaa Tahir

"An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)" by Sabaa Tahir

Teen Book ★★★★ This is the story of Elias, a soldier for the Martial Empire, and Laia, a slave for the Martial Empire. Their lives are separate and lived with separate purpose until their paths cross. They begin to realize that they are much more similar than they once had thought and destiny seems to lead them to one another. As a debut novel by this newcomer to the Young Adult fiction world, Sabaa Tahir is a standout with her original story telling and ...

Reviewed by Ashley C. Read more reviews of "An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)' by Victoria Aveyard

"Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)" by Victoria Aveyard

Teen Book ★★★★ Looking for a new dystopian series? Give this excellent debut novel a try! Mare Barrow is a thief living in a village with the rest of her family, born into poverty because of the color of her blood. The Reds are a lower caste than the aristocratic Silvers, who have superhero-esque abilities in addition to silver blood. Mare is offered a chance to work as a servant in one of the Silver palaces and escape her fate of serving in the army. A ...

Reviewed by Kathleen K. Read more reviews of "Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Allegiant (Divergent, #3)' by Veronica Roth

"Allegiant (Divergent, #3)" by Veronica Roth

Teen Book ★★★★★ The intriguing conclusion to the Divergent series, this book will be hard to put down. Tris and Four continue to search for answers and a way to put the pieces of their broken lives back together. What began with a choice that changed their lives forever continues to be a journey of choices and tough lessons in love, courage, truth, and sacrifice. ...

Reviewed by Bettina P. Read more reviews of "Allegiant (Divergent, #3)" at Goodreads.com. »

'The Registry' by Shannon Stoker

"The Registry" by Shannon Stoker

Teen Book ★★★★★ Looking for a new dystopian trilogy? Look no further! This is a book that will be hard to put down and will leave you wishing you had the next book. In this new America, girls are raised to be brides and sold to the highest bidder, and boys are raised to be soldiers ready to fight. Follow eighteen year old Mia as she goes on a journey to be a free woman and see what happens to create "The Registry". ...

Reviewed by Heather B. Read more reviews of "The Registry" at Goodreads.com. »

'Icons (Icons, #1)' by Margaret Stohl

"Icons (Icons, #1)" by Margaret Stohl

Teen Book Your heart beats only with their permission.Everything changed on The Day. The day the windows shattered. The day the power stopped. The day Dol's family dropped dead. The day Earth lost a war it didn't know it was fighting.Since then, Dol has lived a simple life in the countryside -- safe from the shadow of the Icon and its terrifying power. Hiding from the one truth she can't avoid.She's different. She survived. ...

Read more reviews of "Icons (Icons, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)' by Debra Driza

"MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)" by Debra Driza

Teen Book Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her al ...

Read more reviews of "MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)' by Beth Revis

"Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)" by Beth Revis

Teen Book ★★★★ "Shades of Earth," book three in the "Across the Universe" series, proved to be a great ending to this sci-fi thriller. Having traveled across the universe on a 300 year journey, Elder and Amy finally arrive to their destination: An earth-like planet called Centauri-Earth. After a rocky landing, the frozen military personnel and scientists from Earth are reanimated. The ship-borns and earth-borns will have to work together to understand ...

Reviewed by Taylor W. Read more reviews of "Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)" at Goodreads.com. »

'The Testing (The Testing, #1)' by Joelle Charbonneau

"The Testing (The Testing, #1)" by Joelle Charbonneau

Teen Book ★★★★ Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies who are looking for their next read should grab The Testing. This young adult novel describes a dystopian society ravaged by the Seven Stages War, in which graduation day brings celebration and a wish for the future. Graduate Malencia Vale desperately hopes that she is one of the select few chosen for a chance to compete in "The Testing", weeks of competitive tests that grant the winners a u ...

Reviewed by Sarah M. Read more reviews of "The Testing (The Testing, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Insurgent (Divergent, #2)' by Veronica Roth

"Insurgent (Divergent, #2)" by Veronica Roth

Teen Book ★★★★★ The second book in Veronica Roth's Divergent series continues to follow 16-year-old Tris Prior as she struggles to make sense of her world as it crumbles around her. Tris has finally embraced her divergence but must now figure out what to do about the danger it places on those closest to her. She must make peace with herself as she battles guilt, grief, and loss and tries to decide whose love and loyalty is true, all while she continues to ...

Reviewed by Bettina P. Read more reviews of "Insurgent (Divergent, #2)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Starters (Starters, #1)' by Lissa Price

"Starters (Starters, #1)" by Lissa Price

Teen Book HER WORLD IS CHANGED FOREVERCallie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie. Callie's only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man.He hi ...

Read more reviews of "Starters (Starters, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Article 5 (Article 5, #1)' by Kristen Simmons

"Article 5 (Article 5, #1)" by Kristen Simmons

Teen Book New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always th ...

Read more reviews of "Article 5 (Article 5, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)' by Veronica Rossi

"Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)" by Veronica Rossi

Teen Book WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she's never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He's sea ...

Read more reviews of "Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Legend (Legend, #1)' by Marie Lu

"Legend (Legend, #1)" by Marie Lu

Teen Book There is an alternate cover edition for this ISBN13 here.What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the s ...

Read more reviews of "Legend (Legend, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)' by Moira Young

"Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)" by Moira Young

Teen Book Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That's fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when four cloaked horsemen capture Lugh, Saba's world is shattered, and she embarks on a quest to get him back.  Suddenly thrown into t ...

Read more reviews of "Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Divergent (Divergent, #1)' by Veronica Roth

"Divergent (Divergent, #1)" by Veronica Roth

Teen Book ★★★★★ The first book in Veronica Roth's wildly popular series does not disappoint! We meet 16-year-old Beatrice Prior on the eve of the most important decision of her life. She must chose one of five factions to belong to for the rest of her years. Will she choose to stay with her family or find a new one? Her decision is complicated by her test results and her realization that the perfect world in which she thought she lived is very flawed inde ...

Reviewed by Bettina P. Read more reviews of "Divergent (Divergent, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Enclave (Razorland, #1)' by Ann Aguirre

"Enclave (Razorland, #1)" by Ann Aguirre

Teen Book New York City has been decimated by war and plague, and most of civilization has migrated to underground enclaves, where life expectancy is no more than the early 20's. When Deuce turns 15, she takes on her role as a Huntress, and is paired with Fade, a teenage Hunter who lived Topside as a young boy. When she and Fade discover that the neighboring enclave has been decimated by the tunnel monsters--or Freaks--who seem to be growing more organized ...

Read more reviews of "Enclave (Razorland, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Delirium (Delirium, #1)' by Lauren Oliver

"Delirium (Delirium, #1)" by Lauren Oliver

Teen Book There is an alternate cover edition for this ISBN13 here.They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever. And I've always believed them. Until now.Now everything has changed. Now I'd rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie. ...

Read more reviews of "Delirium (Delirium, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

'Matched (Matched, #1)' by Ally Condie

"Matched (Matched, #1)" by Ally Condie

Teen Book In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one…until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: b ...

Read more reviews of "Matched (Matched, #1)" at Goodreads.com. »

18 | Based on the Goodreads API.