Marathon County Public Library

learning • community • ideas • information

Holiday hours: All MCPL locations will be closed by 5pm on Wed., 11/22, and closed all day Thu., 11/23.

Letters to Santa

Children's Event Drop-in Children are encouraged to write letters to Santa Claus and drop them off at participating MCPL locations this holiday season!
Holiday Writing Spencer Children Grades K 5 Preschool Early Elemen

Anime Afternoon

Teen Event Drop-in Teens can get a taste of the world of Japanese animation by viewing the series "Orange," "Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid," Occultic; Nine," and "Eureka 7!"
More events in this series (1). » Movie Wausau Teens

Needle Arts Night

Adult Event Drop-in Knitters of all ages and experience levels are invited to gather for a night of working on knitting projects and socializing at MCPL! And it's not just for knitters - crocheters and other fans of the needle arts are invited, too!
More events in this series (16). » Crafts Hands-on Activities Athens Adults Children

Home School Huddle

Children's Event Drop-in Families of homeschooled children can hear stories, read, and participate in various activities related to the areas of science, technology, engineering, arts, and math.
More events in this series (20). » Hands-on Activities Science Edgar Children

Quilting and Crafting

Adult Event Quilters and crafters - experienced and beginners - are invited to gather to learn, create, and share. In addition to sharing quilting skills and techniques, we'll also teach a new ... (read more)
More events in this series (4). » Stratford Adults

After School Experiments

Children's Event Join us each month to participate in a variety of hands-on experiments related to math and science. Free and no registration required, all supplies provided.
More events in this series (4). » Art Hands-on Learning Science Technology Wausau Children Tweens

MCPL Movie Night: "The Glass Castle"

Thu., 11/30/17, 5:30pm - 7:45pm @ MCPL Wausau
Adult Event A free screening of the 2017 film adaptation of Jeannette Walls' best-selling memoir. Rated PG-13.
Movie Wausau Adults

Friends of MCPL "Everything Must Go!" Sale

Adult Event Drop-in A special sale to clear out the former area of our dedicated Friends group. Great deals on books as well as tables, shelving and more!
More events in this series (1). » Book Sale Wausau Adults

Outside the Lines: A Family Coloring Party

Children's Event Drop-in Bring the whole family to work on coloring projects for both children and adults!
More events in this series (5). » Art Activities Hatley Children Grades K 5

It's Your Move: MCPL Game Day

Children's Event Drop-in Bring your family to the library for a fun day of gaming! Board and card games for all ages will be available.
More events in this series (4). » Games Activities Rothschild Adults Children Teens

Passport Camp

Adult Event Drop-in Residents of Athens and its surrounding communities will have a chance to apply for a U.S. passport locally during a special one-day-only application event at the Marathon County Public Library! Appointments taken, not required.
Athens Adults

Russia Today

Mon., 12/4/17, 7pm - 8pm @ Edgar High School
Adult Event Learn about the current state of Russia, including current events there and how the country has changed, from UW-Marathon County professor Jeff Leigh!
History Travel Edgar High School Adults

Spencer High School Handbell Choir

Tue., 12/5/17, 9am - 10am @ MCPL Spencer
Adult Event Join us as the Spencer High School Handbell Choir performs songs for the holiday season! Free and open to the public.
Holiday Music Spencer Adults

Meet Libby: OverDrive's New E-book App

Adult Event Library staff will get attendees acquainted with Libby, OverDrive's latest app for accessing free e-books, audiobooks and more! Registration is required.
More events in this series (3). » E-books Hands-on Learning Technology Wausau Adults

LEGO® Block Party

Children of all ages and their families are invited to build creative projects using LEGO blocks! All blocks will be provided. Free and no registration required.
More events in this series (17). » Activities Hands-on Learning Mosinee Children Preschool Early Elementary

After School Holiday Fun!

Tue., 12/5/17, 3:30pm - 5pm @ MCPL Stratford
Children's Event Kids in grades 3-7 are invited for an afternoon of games, music, stories and holiday-themed crafts! Free, with all supplies provided.
Holiday Crafts Activities Games Music Hands-on Activities Stratford Children Tweens

Reef Life: A Guide to Tropical Marine Life by Brandon Cole

★★★★★ A treasure trove of information and over 1,000 full-color pix of ocean life around the world, "Reef Life" is eye candy for nature lovers and divers alike. Topping off at 616 pages, Cole's book is brimming with gorgeous pix of dartfish, razorfish, sharks, rays, angelfish, corals, hawkfish, dolphins, grunts, eels, seahorses and so on. Some 800 species of...

Audience: Adults
Genre: Nonfiction, Nature

Curiosity, Camaraderie Keeps Library Friends Coming Back

After spending 1 or 2 days a week with each other for the past 20 years, the dedicated volunteers behind the Friends of the Marathon County Public Library acknowledge they’re more like family than friends. It’s a bond forged as pages flipped and the creative output of generations of writers — fiction, non-fiction, poetry, children’s and young adult...

Friends Of The Library Library Book Sale Books

Resource of the Moment

History of Marathon County, Wisconsin and representative citizens

History of Marathon County, Wisconsin and representative citizens

Written by Louis Marchetti and published in 1913, this is an often-cited work used for researching the early days of Marathon County.

Genealogy Local History History Marathon County MCPL Online


Receive our monthly email newsletter and stay informed of upcoming book clubs, story times, presentations, performances, movies nights, arts & crafts, author visits and more!

Your email address will be used for this purpose only and will not be redistributed or sold. You may unsubscribe at any time.